Every motorist must have liability insurance that fulfills the state’s minimum standards. A “fault” method is used for car accident compensation in California. Any valid auto insurance policy must include both per-person and per-accident bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage. The base levels of insurance protection are $15,000, $30,000, and $5,000. In addition to meeting the minimum standards established by law, drivers are strongly advised to also obtain underinsured/uninsured driver coverage.
The negligent drivers are responsible for paying for the damages caused by the accident. The wounded motorist can make an insurance claim against the policy of the negligent motorist, but various formalities must be met before the case can be settled. In the event of a car crash, one of the most important things you can do is to report the incident. In the event of a collision that results in serious bodily harm, death, or extensive property damage, drivers in the state of California are obligated by law to contact emergency services at 911. But, regardless of fault, drivers must also notify their insurance providers of collisions.
Notifying Your Insurance Company of the Accident
Automobile accident claims in the Golden State are resolved according to a blame scheme. As a result, if an accident was the fault of another driver, you will need to claim their automobile insurance. However, you must also notify your insurance provider about the incident. Drivers should study their policies to find out how quickly after an accident, they must notify their insurer. When it comes to coverage, each insurer sets its own guidelines.
As soon as possible, inform the other driver’s insurance carrier that you intend to file a claim against their policy. There is no hard and fast rule about when you must file a claim for car insurance; the deadlines vary by insurer.
What Consequences Will I Face If I Forget to Report an Incident?
After an accident, it’s crucial to report it to the authorities and your insurance company as soon as possible. There are serious criminal penalties, including hit-and-run, that can be brought against you in some states if you fail to report an accident to the police as state law requires. Avoid shopping for a new auto insurance policy by reporting the accident to your current provider as soon as possible. The conditions of your policy will likely specify the consequences you’ll face if you don’t report an accident.